Creating A GIF Using GIMP

GIMP is the image manipulation tool of choice in the Linux world. I took some photos of myself using cheese. Cheese is the camera app on my desktop. I took 4 and do move or change pose or position for this to work.

Then open the first image in GIMP by starting GIMP then Cntrl-O, select the first image. Then type Cntrl-Alt-O, select the second image. This will create a second layer with the second image on it. Do this for the rest of the images. You can view the animation with Alt-R (filter) then choose Animation (I), then Play(P). You can adjust the fps and the speed of play. Save your work by going to File>Export then choose Animation in the next window.

Cheese took the original photos in 640×380 px. I prefer the gif image smaller so I had to use the Tool Transform tool and the Crop Tool in GIMP to adjust the images to my liking. The gif is running in 30 fps.

One thought on “Creating A GIF Using GIMP

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.